DIY

I am definitely not the most creative person. Read: I am not creative at all. Whenever I see things my friends or bloggers make, I am completely shocked. Since I knew I needed a little help in the creative area, I started following do-it-yourself blogs, design blogs, decorating blogs, and basically any blog that would give me inspiration.

One of my favorite design blogs is called Little Green Notebook. The author, Jenny, is a decorator in New York City (this could be one of the reasons this design blog is my favorite). Jenny has done a ton of DIY projects and provides step-by-step demonstrations on her blog so her readers can do the projects themselves. Below are a few of my favorite DIYs that she has done. To see all of her DIY projects, click here.

closet1                    step 2                 closet3

I think the trim and the black paint make the room look way more sophisticated and nicer.

How to upholster an antique side chair:

     chairbefore             glueingtrim              chairafter

Now the chair looks sleek, shiny, and new. I think it looks great!

Another part of Jenny’s blog that I love are her before and afters. I love seeing the photos before she decorates houses and then the photos after so I can see everything she did and transformed. Recently, Jenny decorated Joanna Goddard’s apartment (the author of A CUP OF JO, a blog I formerly blogged about). The before and after shots are lovely.

before                              after beforebroom after1 after2

I think Jenny is so creative and comes up with such neat ideas for houses and tiny apartments. I also love that she incorporates her family into her blog, so that viewers can see that she can do all of these things while maintaining a family life.

Leave a Reply

