Shhhh…

Keeping with the theme of pictures, I thought I’d write about PostSecret. While some might not consider it I blog, I do because it’s updated weekly with new pictures, information, comments, and more and I check it every week along with my other blogs. In fact, PostSecret started as an experiment on Blogspot, so there’s that.

If you don’t know what PostSecret is, you’re in for a treat. PostSecret is an ongoing community mail art project, created by Frank Warren, in which people mail their secrets anonymously to Frank on a homemade postcard. Select secrets are then posted on the PostSecret website or used for PostSecret’s books or museum exhibits. How cool is that?!

ps3

The reason I like this site so much is because it’s a reminder that everyone goes through hard times, everyone has something they don’t want others to know, and that many of us go through similar things. Some of the secrets are sad, some are scary, some are funny, and some are very random; regardless, they’re all interesting to read. The author claims that the postcards are inspirational to those who read them, have healing powers for those who write them, give hope to people who identify with a stranger’s secret, and create an anonymous community of acceptance. I believe these things to be true.

ps1

Frank updates PostSecret every Sunday and has since the site launched in 2005. I think I have checked PostSecret every Sunday for the past four or five years. I’m so glad he’s continued to do this. I think it’s wonderful.

ps2

Frank travels the world presenting secrets to crowds of people at colleges all the time. Check PostSecret.com for tour dates and times. Also, you can buy the books online and in stores. They are just as wonderful. Here is a video from a PostSecret Event tour:

Leave a Reply

